THE Penang government is recognising community heroes in the state via a community award.

Chief Minister Chow Kon Yeow said the community award, which is one of the activities under the LovePENANG campaign, was held to recognise those who had voluntarily offered humanitarian aid and assistance to those in need, especially during the Covid-19 pandemic period.

“The state is grateful for the sacrifices and contribution of these heroes who had selflessly offered their help to others during times of need. Therefore, we want to acknowledge them through this community award.

“This award is open to the people of Penang. The spirit of volunteerism must be nurtured in our society.

“The public can nominate any community heroes who fulfil the criteria and share their stories.

“The nominations can be done through the LovePENANG mobile app or its website,” Chow told a media conference in Komtar today.

Chow said the nominations would be screened by professional panellists from agencies and non-governmental organisations (NGOs).

The panellists are Buddhist Tzu-Chi Merits Society Malaysia (Penang) commissioner Datuk Khoo Boo Leong, Penang Majlis Datuk-Datuk president Datuk Seri Abdul Rafique Abdul Karim, former Federation of Malaysian Manufacturers Penang (FMM Penang) chairman Datuk Jimmy Ong, medical practitioner Dr Doreen Yeap and Malaysian Association Indian Chambers of Commerce and Industry Malaysia (Maicci) president Datuk N. Gobalakrishnan.

For details, visit

Chow also highlighted the 5km LovePENANG Run which would be held in Beach Street on Aug 14.

The run is jointly organised by the Penang government, Penang State Sports Council (MSNPP) and the Penang Forward Sports Club (PFSC).

“The run is open to participants of all ages. Children below 12 must be accompanied by their parents or guardians.

“We hope that this run can promote a healthy lifestyle and showcase the beauty of George Town,” he said.

Chow said the event is limited to 10,000 participants.

Registration is now open. Participants are also entitled to the lucky draw.

Visit for more details.

Also present at the media conference were Penang Youth and Sports Committee chairman Soon Lip Chee, MSNPP director Harry Chai and PFSC chairman Lim Choo Hooi.

Source: Buletin Mutiara